widedanax.blogg.se

Mashti knife
Mashti knife











I gotta say I love their daring flavors and their small-batch approach to ice cream making. I don’t need the whole gummi bears-mochi-carob chip-yogurt raisin-oreo crumbles kind of a topping bar, but I do like my sprinkles. But sprinkles would have been a nice addition. I asked if they ever had any toppings, and the guy’s response was a slightly hapless and yet still friendly, “I think we’re out of sprinkles.” Okay, no problem. The ice cream is smooth, very creamy, and richly flavored but not as dense as gelato. And I had Pistachio-Rosewater and Roasted Rice on a sugar cone. According to the pleasant scooper, they rotate flavors pretty much every day, so there’s always something new and unique to try.īennet chose Brown Brown Bread (caramel ice cream with Grape Nuts) and Vanilla Marsala served in a cup. Wasabi cream, chocolate raspberry, roasted rice, and strawberry-balsamic? Offbeat flavors, definitely, but all we tried were stellar. All the flavors were proclaimed “weird” by Bennet, who nonetheless sampled them all with gusto. It was deserted, with only a small gelato display featuring seven, maybe eight flavors. I think we were both skeptical when we entered. I’d heard the name of the place in the Twitter chatter, but had never tried it before. Recently my seven-year-old son Bennet and I tried out Scoops, a tiny ice cream shop tucked into a nondescript micro-mall on Overland just south of the I-10 onramp. And he had plenty of energy for biking and learning and playing. It was a lovely brekkie for all! It was substantial and delicious and Bennet enjoyed it immensely. Regina set the table and squeezed some fresh grapefruit juice. In the meantime I toasted the bagel and fried the eggs. I popped the pan in the oven and finished the fish for another five minutes. I flipped the fish and seared the other side for about five minutes. I add a tablespoon of veg oil to the pan and crisped the salmon, skin-side down for about five minutes. I preheated the oven to 350 degrees and heated a non-stick saute pan. Bennet helped by washing the cherries, cracking the eggs, and seasoning the fish. So Bennet and I made a breakfast of over-easy fried eggs, pan-roasted salmon (with skin), toasted bagel (from Western Bagel here in LA), and a few very good, very juicy, and virtually black cherries. It’s only a couple of miles each way, but I wanted to make sure he had enough energy for the day. But Bennet and I like to bike to school once a week and yesterday was the first bike trip of the new school year. Yesterday morning I insisted we have a large breakfast, which is rare for me I eat breakfast only two or three times a week, generally speaking. Bennet immediately asked for “salmon and broccoli, and maybe a little Caesar salad?”. Regina and I looked over the kids menu at the Heathman in Portland mostly the usual suspects - chicken fingers, buttered noodles. His response, “I really liked the filet of sole you made last night, Dad.” And I remember another time at my pre-wedding rehearsal dinner. “Would you like a grilled cheese sandwich, or maybe a couple of miniburgers for dinner?” was my question to him. I recall a moment two years ago, when I was planning dinner for just the two of us. He might not end up enjoying everything, but he tries it for sure.īennet has pretty advanced tastes for a kid, which is apparent in his love for fish, especially salmon. But I’m happy that he’ll try most things - any kind of salad, garlicky bok choy, spicy Japanese pickles, crab legs, lobster claws, shaved black truffles, fried abalone, grilled squid. I dearly hope he grows out of this phase and embraces tomatoes like I do. I say “almost” simply because he cannot be cajoled or bribed into eating tomatoes. He helps me in the kitchen with simple tasks, he sets the table, and he’s almost fearless when it comes to eating. Even at age seven, he’s exhibiting a real interest in food.













Mashti knife